Academic Search Premier – This scholarly resource contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AR BookFinder – Searching for Accelerated Reader books is fun and easy with this free online tool.
Auto Repair Reference Center – ARRC contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content in ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.
Business Source Premier – Designed for business libraries, this is the industry’s most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Business Source Premier provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc.
Consumer Health Complete – The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, CHC is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Reports – Provides product ratings and reviews written by Consumer Reports experts. Whether a user is looking to find the best deal on an LCD TV, or researching the top-recommended used vehicles, Consumer Reports enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for.
Explora Elementary School – A easy-to-use interface for students, Explora offers articles, essays, videos, and primary source documents, simple and effective searching, easy-to-browse categories arranged by popular subjects, and topic overviews that provide a starting point for research. Designed for grades 1-5.
Explora High School – A easy-to-use interface for students, Explora offers articles, essays, videos, and primary source documents, simple and effective searching, easy-to-browse categories arranged by popular subjects, and topic overviews that provide a starting point for research. Designed for grades 9-12.
Explora Middle School – A easy-to-use interface for students, Explora offers articles, essays, videos, and primary source documents, simple and effective searching, easy-to-browse categories arranged by popular subjects, and topic overviews that provide a starting point for research. Designed for grades 6-8.
Explora Public Library – A easy-to-use interface for public library patrons, Explora offers articles, essays, videos, and primary source documents, simple and effective searching, easy-to-browse categories arranged by popular subjects, and topic overviews that provide a starting point for research.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia – For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Global Issues in Context – Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, but a non-U.S. centric resource that ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues.
GreenFILE – offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Heritage Quest – Is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources―rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
History Reference Center – is the world’s most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Hoopla – brings you thousands of movies, television, music, and audiobook titles. There are no costs or hassles. All you need is a library card and a web browser, phone, or tablet.
Learning Express – Learn about careers and prepare for occupational licensing exams in allied health, civil service, law enforcement, nursing, teaching, and other top fields. There’s academic skill building (reading, writing, and math) for students and adults, including resources in Spanish. College-bound students can practice for Advanced Placement (AP), college admissions, college placement, and graduate school exams. Patrons also gain access to test prep for the WorkKeys Assessments and the GED, HiSET, and TASC tests, and much more. The resources include interactive tutorials, practice tests and exercises, and more than 200 downloadable eBooks. Gannon Rothman, a student at Windsor Middle School, created this video to promote the use of Learning Express at school.
Legal Information Reference Center – This database contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts (with full-text) – Designed for librarians, LISTA Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals and nearly 30 full-text monographs.
Mango Languages – Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for a wide variety of popular languages. With everyday dialog from native speakers, engaging interactive lessons, and a unique intuitive teaching style, Mango increases your ability to use, adapt and build on what you learn.
MasterFile Premier – Designed for public libraries, MasterFile Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Masterplots: Salem Literature – analyzes the most important works in all genres―long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction―throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.
MAS Ultra School Edition – This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents.
Middle Search Plus – This database contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Newspaper Source – This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
NoveList – Is a readers’ advisory service, and not only provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles, but it also offers a wide range of feature content that will expand your staff’s ability to serve fiction readers of all ages and increase the reach of your library’s program including author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
Points of View Reference Center – A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Primary Search – This database contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also provided are the American Heritage® Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection – A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users from subscribing institutions to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Reference USA – Offers several searchable database modules containing detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and employers, 89 million U.S. residents, and over 203 million U.S. consumers. Reference USA will not work in Internet Explorer 8.
Regional Business News – This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
Salem Health – Includes Salem Health: Cancer, Psychology & Mental Health, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Magill’s Medical Guide, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, and Addictions & Substance Abuse.
Science Reference Center – SRC is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Small Engine Repair – Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides users with detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines. There are over 440 full-text reference books with original photos and illustrations that guide the user through every job.
Techboomers – is a free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life.
TOPICsearch – This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
TumbleBooks – TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.